The Donut Tree

Andrew spent last night at the campus observatory. So this morning we got to see a little more of Daddy than usual.

As I am 8 months pregnant my first thought after “can I make it to the bathroom” was “what should we have for breakfast?”.

“How about pancakes?!” I asked Andrew, trying not to sound too enthusiastic.

“That sounds DELICIOUS.” he replied kindly. But we sat for a moment as I could see him reviewing his answer.

“Or we could do donuts…”

Now, with Andrew, you never know. That statement could mean he was thinking of MAKING donuts which would mean he would have to find a recipe, go to the store to buy enough vegetable oil to fry our homemade pastries and then make said donuts.

I paused looking to him to fill in the gaps of his plan.

“Yeah” he said ” I could go to the store and get some donuts.” My pregnant stomach was relieved.

“Sure. Either is fine.” I say trying again not to sound like I might eat the bed if he doesn’t get the donuts fast enough.

Clare finished her bottle and we asked her what she thought of the idea.

“Dat should be gate!” (That should be great) she said.

“You go pick donuts with Daddy?” (Can I go pick donuts with daddy?)

our "fruit" from the donut tree

Say what you will about giving your toddler donuts but the simple fact that Clare thought that she was going to pick donuts from Daddy’s garden means we’re probably doing something right. Our raw vegan prefers getting the vast majority of nourishment from our own back yard but she tolerated the donuts.

Though I informed Clare that you have to go to the store to get donuts she still thinks someone picks them off the “donut tree” as she put it and then brings them to the store for us to buy.

I’ll let her kindergarten teacher or her unmerciful peers break that one to her. That…along with Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy.

Leave a Reply

