The Hippie Diet: BRAN!

Bran People!

Has no one heard of bran!??

But seriously. If you need to lose a little weight or you just want to get healthy eat bran. Instead of doing a intestinal purge that Biancé or J-lo endorses …eat BRAN! I’m serious. Eat it.  The solution is never to starve yourself because when you do your body thinks it is actually starving (big surprise) and stops processing food. So eat!

And here is the big news people…bran makes you “go”! So you are not starving but your food doesn’t become a permanent house guest. Your food doesn’t check in to the hotel of your large intestine and stay for a week. It says hello and then “moves on”.

I have distinct memories from my childhood of my mom making bran muffins. If one person was “plugged up” in our house chances are that everyone was.  Just let getting the flu, constipation is contagious… sort of. So the smell of bran muffins wafting upstairs meant that you weren’t alone – everyone else was feeling a little stopped up and uncomfortable as well.

I know what you all are thinking, “Bran muffins suck!” and I would agree with you. But my mom, a hippie for life, has perfected the recipe and she adds delicious little surprises like chocolate chips or raisins to help them go down easier. Bran is a great way to boost your energy and “clean you out”. So try this out and see if you like it.

Bran Muffins:
3/4 cup milk
1 1/2 cup wheat bran (sometimes I mix in ground flax seed)
1 egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup molasses
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour (may use part whole wheat)
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (if wanted)

Heat oven to 400. Grease muffin tins. Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients, beating well. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and into this pour the wet mixture. Mix using as few strokes as possible.
Pour into muffin tins and bake.

If you’re not a cook you can still participate in the Bran step of the Hippie Diet. Dunkin’ Donuts has DELICIOUS bran muffins (I’m serious. I wouldn’t joke around about that) and Raisin Bran does the trick too. Have it for breakfast a few days in a row and you’ll know what I mean.

One of the main keys to staying fit and healthy is keeping your system “flowing”. Try it today. Trust me.

Ok. Gotta “go”. 🙂

2 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe… Trader Joes has a delicious bran muffin with raspberries and blueberries in it, that I LOVE!! Seriously, they are so filling and yummy and I find myself unable to stop eating them… and sometimes too much bran can be too much of a good thing!

  2. Sometimes, instead of using milk or rice milk, I mash up a ripe banana, add a tablespoon of lemon juice and use that for the liquid.

    And sometimes I substitute 1/4 cup of powdered chocolate for 1/4 cup of the flour. Chocolate bran muffins are great.

    And sometimes I do both because Chocolate banana bran muffins are terrific!

Leave a Reply

