Calvert Cliffs

So this isn’t really in our neighborhood…in fact it’s a far drive even for someone who thinks a 45 minute drive is cake. This is a once a year thing but I wanted to let y’all locals know about this treasure.

Calvert Cliffs State Park is at the bottom of Calvert County  and at the mouth of the Bay. The best part about this park is this huge tire play ground. Just kidding. But it IS awesome. You can eat your lunch and play before you head out for your hike.

Is she not the cutest thing you've ever seen? I'm almost weeping just looking at that sweet heart. Bah! Melt.

He's pretty cute too.

Haha! Are you not laughing? I'm laughing out loud...but inside...cause I don't want to scare the neighbors.

We started on the 2 mile hike down to the beach right after lunch. Let me warn you now. If you have a small infant you may not be able to do this one. Clare, a generally easygoing baby, basically had a huge melt down on the way back to the parking lot. MELTDOWN. I mean…wow. People were staring.

I usually show the standard shot with Clare IN the backpack with Andrew. Didn’t work this particular day but being held in an uncomfortable position with her feet next to her face seemed to work. That is until it didn’t.

But the path was easy to hike – wide, only slight inclines. This path is great for little kids. It’s beautiful and shaded and easy for anyone not to mention tons of fun and safe wild life. If you’re kids are learning about ecosystems they should definitely see this one.

The wild rhododendron were also in bloom. Ah…lovely. They were everywhere.

Then we arrived at the beach which is totally fun. Not the best view (off shore fueling station or something – not pictured) but fun.

The great thing about the beach is the large collection of fossils. Not only can your kids have a fun and easy hike but they can also learn about the fossils on the beach AND…take them home. So cool.

We had tons of fun exploring and it was only 5 dollars. You can’t beat that with a stick.

In other parts of my world: I forgot.

4 responses

  1. I went there once on a field trip in elem school and remember finding shark teeth. I also remember seeing a HUGE snake during the hike!! Man, I bet my kids would LOVE this place… perhaps we can go at the end of the summer or early fall. Is there a better time of year to go there? A time when more fossils are prevalent?

  2. I grew up about 15 minutes from Calvert Cliffs (Prince Frederick). My dad still works at the power plant just down the road on the Cliffs. If you loved CC, you should try Flag Ponds. It’s before you get to CC on Rt 4 on the left. I don’t think the hike is quite as long there and the beach is pretty. Or at least it was the last time I went years ago.
    Oh, and the Cypress Swamp (about 10 minutes from CC) is also great when Claire gets older. I spent many, many hours there as a kid during the summer fun days. Such a neat experience.

Leave a Reply

