The Hippie Diet

I was raised by a hippie and a marine.

Yeah.

Conundrum.

How did I turn out normal? Oh wait…

I never saw either one of my parents go on a diet except when my dad’s cholesterol was high and he, a super skinny dude, lost 20 pounds within a couple months because he was so dedicated to getting healthier.

Lots of my friends have dieted. I’ve stood by and listened while people talk about every diet and body cleanse known to man. I’ve always had a hard time understanding all these crazes simply because I have no context for them.

When my dad wants to lose a little bit of weight he goes to Giant and buys a bag of pretzels. My mom and I joke about this but these are a non fat snack that he can munch on when he has cravings and not feel that guilty about. BINGO! Then he starts walking 2 or 3 times a week.

My mom is the kind of person who never denies herself food.  This was great to see when I was growing up simply because I wasn’t being taught that starving myself was normal. Now it’s not like my mom is one of those super skin “I’ll eat that truck load of oreos and not gain a pound” people. She is a real woman (I don’t know if anyone knows what one of those looks like) and no matter what size she has always been lovely. Her love of food encouraged me to try new things and experiment with cooking.

When she wants to lose a little bit of weight she just puts less half and half in her tea and does a few reps with a can of tomatoes in the morning. And she makes everything herself that way she knows and can control exactly what goes into her food.

Anyway, I’ve decided to do a few entries spotlighting techniques on how to diet without dieting. These are life changes and ones that are easy to maintain.

Yes, the term Hippie Diet is an oxymoron but that’s the point. Right? I think diets are ridiculous and if you’re skinny you won’t lose weight doing any of this….because it’s more about health and well being than anything else.

I’m blabbing….gah.

Ok. So first and foremost: Love yourself. No matter what you look like. You have to love who you are and be content with yourself even if you never lose weight and your body never changes.

Every morning wake up and tell yourself that you are a beautiful and valuable human being.  Sound like a flower child…well…there you go.

It sounds silly but if you don’t love yourself you can never treat yourself with the kind of respect that will influence your weight or your health.

Start today. and go pick some flowers and dance in the sun.

2 responses

  1. OK, when I read this all I could think of was that SNL skit when the guy would look in the mirror and say, “I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough and Gosh, Darn it, People Like Me” Not that I’ve really watched that much SNL, but that’s what popped into my head. 🙂

    You are right though… we must be content with ourselves and then want to take care of ourselves. Love the hippie diet! Though currently I am enjoying the preggo diet.

Leave a Reply

