6 Months

Clare turned 6 months old yesterday.

It was one of the most beautiful days in my memory. I will never forget the reflection of the sky in her bright blue eyes as we sat on the porch and enjoyed the day, her head turned up to look at the swaying tree branches, both of us laughing.

I’ve known my birth date for many years.  I’ve celebrated every year since I was born with cake and presents and big smiles and a new dress. But giving birth to Clare was like being born again. I feel now as though I’ve been born twice this time to a new and better way of living.

I’ve always known that I would love being a mother.  When was a little girl I used to say with confidence that I wanted, “100 boys, 100 girls and 2 sets of twins.” Minus the twins, that is still true.

But nothing could prepare me for how incredible it would be to be Clare’s mother.

She is most definitely the light of my life.

Her cautious yet determined spirit is one I admire and that challenges me every day. Her independent and happy disposition I am constantly amazed by. And she is THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THING I’VE EVER SEEN!

Clare, happy 6 months.  I love everything about being your momma.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

