To Love Is To Live

Right now, as I sit on my couch and look out on the rain and the quiet grey landscape, I see a couple across the street. They are saying their goodbyes for the day on the sidewalk in front of their house.

I don’t know them. I’ve only said hello in passing a few times but I observe them in their seemingly private moment as they make little plans for the day and kiss goodbye.

I think about the beauty of this moment and I give thanks for it.

Only last week Andrew and I were sitting in our living room, taking deep breaths and preparing to get started on all the different tasks we needed to accomplish that day. He said, “Do you ever feel like your life is just a sequence of events and that you often get caught up in the monotony of it all?”

“Yes.” I replied. “I do.”

And I sat there wondering why. I’m happy. I love my life but I often do the same things every day. I see Andrew go to work every day and why? To provide for us…but only to see us for a couple hours a day.

I responded with some comment about Clare changing every day and growing so much all the time and how that takes away the monotony…but I continued to think about what Andrew had said.

What is the purpose? I felt like a slave to my own humanity. I felt confused.

Day after day slips by and what do I have to show for it?

This weekend I was sitting with Clare on my bed. I had just finished feeding her and I was waiting for a burp and possibly a poo. This is something we do every three hours. But in this moment I realized something. While Clare held my face in her hands and blew a raspberry on my cheek, I understood why we work and why our lives are not just useless toil.

Love.

We are put here to love…that is our highest calling. To love and to do so deeply and every day. The more we love, the more we live.

As so today as I observe my neighbors I am reminded to love in big ways and small.

In other parts of my world: Teething = bad blogger.

3 responses

  1. I used to have a quote on my desk that said, “We can do no great things, only small things with great love.” I think you’re right Valerie and what an important thought to take to heart.

Leave a Reply

