A Walk A Day

The renovation hasn’t been easy on anyone.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m thankful … SOOO thankful that we have the opportunity to do this.  We’re grateful beyond belief but that doesn’t change the fact that it has brought certain stressors into our lives.

Mess makes me crazy.

There is a thin sheet of dust over everything in the house.

Andrew might as well be in a foreign country because he has been working so hard every spare moment.

We’ve had so much help and we’re nearing the end at which time I will invite every single one of you over for dinner to make up for all my complaining.

It’s been hard on everyone but especially Clare.

She has had no say in any of this.

Her naps are interrupted by loud hammering.

Her parents are grouchy.

She spends all of her wake time in certain restricted areas of the house.

She is getting sick of my face.

Anyway, we’ve been trying to “just roll with it” as we gut and rebuild the kitchen. “Rolling with it” usually means letting Clare take 30 minute naps all day or carrying her around with a screw driver in the other hand (me, not her). But the last few days the weather has been so wonderful that we decided walks might be nice for everyone involved – a break from the noise and dirt and general mayhem.

So we walked.

and she slept.

And that is how a happy baby is made.

See. I told you.

In other parts of my world: I really hope that Maclaren strollers give us a advertising deal for this photo.

2 responses

  1. Ha Ha! And that is how and outdoorsy child is made! When Olivia and I were so sick of being house-bound we would find ourselves on long walks through DC. Many a nap was taken in that very same position as little miss Clare. And hence my child was soothed by the hum of traffic and the songs of birds rather than my lullaby’s. Thanks to the desperate need to be outside, she now makes her day about being out, rather than in! Really saves on the messes too!
    Clare is a doll baby. Am dying to get to meet her in person someday!

Leave a Reply

