Why Use Soap?

I was having my daily powwow with Andrew just before we both dozed off with the lights on and still on top of the covers.  We were talking about Clare and whether or not to bath her every day.

I personally like how she smells when she is all Johnson & Johnsoned up but it seems that it has worsted her Cradle Cap and dandruff. Our compromise was to bath her every day but not to wash her hair every day.

“Are you sure that’s ok? Are we being bad parents if we don’t wash her hair every day? What if she starts looking like a grease monkey?”

“What? Of course we’re not being bad parents!”

“Well I don’t know.”

“Do you wash your hair every day Val?”

“Duh!”

“Why? I don’t think anyone else in the world does that.”

“Really? Am I a weirdo?”

“Why don’t you try it out and see if you like it?”

“I don’t know…”

So I tried it and wow…I actually love it!!!

 

grease monkey #1 and #2

Love it!!!

Try it. It’s better and cheaper than Paul Mitchell.

 

In other parts of my world: burgers tonight!

 

9 responses

  1. Sam gets a bath every night now out of routine’s sake (he didn’t as a wee baby) but he only gets soap every other night unless he’s been particularly artistic with his spinach eating or something. Thus far, no cradle cap or dandruff or baby acne. But I hear ya–there is something intoxicating about that baby Aveeno or whatever smell! It’s actually way better for your hair to only shampoo every once in a while. Woohoo! Enjoy the freedom.

  2. it was a new thing for me too not to wash my hair everyday, but my husband insisted I was being weird to do so. As for the baby. My pediatrician said no soap was needed at all, even if they are covered in food just plan water should fix it they are too little to really need it, (though in the summer if they get sweaty that is a little different but in the winter no need they will have enough problems with dry skin.) I still used it some as I like the smell and the lavender stuff did help get my little ones to bed.

  3. I can tell you my kids have never, ever, gotten a bath every day. When I had one baby I was diligent with every other day.

    Being honest? I strive for that now, but it doesn’t always happen.

    I know… how gross are we?? I am def bad mommy of the year.

    I have many friends who don’t shampoo every day, I hear you just gotta get through the first hump of weirdness and your hair adjusts and its better. I have trouble as my hair looks so gross and greasy, so I still shampoo myself every day though I wish I was brave enough not to.

  4. I don’t wash my hair everyday either. It dries out my hair and gives me nasty split ends. I actually wash it 3-4 times a week. When it came to my kids as little babies, I only washed their hair maybe twice a week. John and Jessi had cradle cap, too.

  5. and just like Crystal, my kids still to this day don’t get bathed everyday. When my kids are older and closer to puberty then they’ll bathe everyday, but for now it’s not really nessesary unless they’re particularly dirty from that days events

  6. My mother told me Johnson and Johnson baby shampoo worsened my cradlecap (don’t know how much the formula has changed for the better in 45 years). Our grandmothers would give a daily rubdown with cotton balls and a little olive oil, and used less soap overall, “to keep the skin from getting dry and peeling.” Too much washing (with soap) is now linked to vitamin D deficiency (serious in children, to the point of developing rickets), since it takes your body oil that makes the vitamin D away.

  7. Hey 🙂 I certainly do not give her a bath everyday. I aim for every other night, but some nights she needs to sleep more than she needs a bath. If it goes more than 3 or 4 days (i know– maybe I’m a bad mother), I’ll give her a washcloth bath. I try to wash her face, hands every night. But, not scrubbing her hair has really helped with the craddle cap. “Foam shampoo for newborns” by Mustela with the little scrub brush they gave us at the hospital has really helped, too. She seems to like the shampoo. 🙂 http://www.amazon.com/Mustela-Foam-Shampoo-for-Newborns/dp/B000GF411S

  8. Baby skin needs to rest. There is a reason that grandma only used cotton balls and baby oil! I gave my babies a bath 2-3 times a week… the other days were a wash cloth bath… as they got older that turned into a sink bath (meaning faces, feet and armpits!) and now, they still only get a bath every other night.
    You are doing a great job! You are a fun, fun-lovin’, funny mom. 😀

Leave a Reply

