A Renaissance Man

I love my husband.

_MG_6331

My love on our wedding day a year ago.

 

I know…I know…but

He is talented on so many levels.  He is gifted not only at material things but also with matters of the heart.

My mom LOVES him.  She thinks he is the greatest thing since sliced bread.  No seriously. And she would probably make him sliced bread if he asked her to.

When I see my brothers and greet them they always want to know where Andrew is.  “Hey Val. Where’s Andrew?”

“He’s at work.”

“Oh…oh ok.” they say with slight disappointment tinting their faces.

“He’s outside.”

“oh ok. See ya. I’m gonna go talk to Andrew.”

Andrew loves to cook and he’s good at it. We has made so many meals since we had little Clare. I was actually starting to feel guilty and brought it up one night.  He looked me straight in the eye and reassured me that he actually LIKED to cook, something I loath. He understands the science and he understands the art – the making of a true chef.

In fact Andrew can make just about anything with his hands. My family quickly learned this about him and now call Andrew when questions arise about home or car or life repair. My mom once said that Andrew works magic with his hands…and it’s true.  They just make stuff work. I don’t get it but I appreciate it.

Andrew is a geek. The geekiest.  This is a compliment. I promise.  He loves going out on a clear night with his telescope and taking shots of the sharpest celestial bodies.

YG0U6399

an image Andrew took while star gazing.

 

Andrew knows something about everything. He can carry on a conversation concerning just about any topic in the world. Being well informed is something I treasure about him mostly because I hardly have my head screwed on straight half the time.

Besides being incredibly intelligent, Andrew is also an artist.  He takes incredible photos, which I use without credit, on this site. He paints.  He knows how to use a sewing machine.

 

annap

Andrew's original take on Annapolis - when everyone else is taking pictures of sailboats.

 

 

 

Andrew has one of the most lovely singing voices ever.  Every once and a while I will catch him singing to Clare. “Staaaand by meeee. OooooOOOooh Staaaand by meeee!” “At the coooopa, Coooooopa Cobaaanaaaa!”

He comes to almost all of my concerts even though he has heard the songs a million times.

Andrew loves truly. Andrew has never asked me to be anything else but myself.  I know he loves me.  I know that when he says, “I like your hair short or long.” that he is telling the truth.I knew that when I gave birth to Clare that he would love her the rest of his life and mean it even when she was 11, the worst age ever.

He is one of the most faithful friends alive and not just to me.  He is dedicated to friends he has known for years.  It doesn’t matter what you have done. It doesn’t matter if you did it to him.  He is there for you when you need him. He doesn’t ask anything but he gives so much in return.

Andrew loves deeply.  There is no half assed effort here.  I am not the easiest person to be married to and I find that even with all the bad things and the poison that I feed myself he can look deeper still and love the woman I truly am and remind me what she looks like.

Andrew turns 27 today and I would like to celebrate his life.

Andrew, Happy Birthday. I’m glad you were born. I love you.

9 responses

  1. You honor your husband by the way you write of him – you express your emotions with understated elegance.

    Happy Birthday to Andrew. This makes three birthdays I’m noting today…

  2. As soon as I saw the title on this post, I knew it would be about Andrew. You are right that he is a renaissance man, but he is more than that since he is also so chivalrous. He has all the best qualities from the middle ages to the present 🙂

  3. That’s a great tribute to your wonderful husband Valerie…..sewing machine….WOW!

    I think your Mom and I once talked about forming an Andrew fan club….he truly is the man God had for you!!!!

    Happy belated birthday Andrew ♪ ♫

Leave a Reply

