A Boy In Every Man

My father-in-law sent me this picture yesterday.  Andrew on one of his childhood birthdays

I

freaked

out.

How could you not?

Isn’t he the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?

No. I’m being serious. I hope I get one just like him.  I tried to jump through the computer screen and hug him.  LOOK AT THAT CHILD!!!!

Look!

Deep breath Val.

The funny thing is that I still see that look in Andrew’s eyes from time to time.  I still see the boy in the man.

But I suppose the strangest and the coolest thing about this photo is that I see this boy so much in Clare. There is nothing like making love with someone and having a child with them and then seeing the face of the person you love repeated somewhere else in the world.

I have to say that if my life were a soundtrack I would put it on repeat and play it over and over again – the good and the bad.

If anyone else feels this way give me a “Heyah!”

Oh and by the way…thanks Dad.  You knew right when I needed to see this picture.

In other parts of my world: Care’s pregnant and let me tell you it’s a doozy.  This child better be a sweet kid cause he/she is giving their mom heck right now.  Our kids will only be 7 months apart.  When I told her I wanted to have kids together I was only sort of serious.  I’m glad she took my advice literally. 🙂

8 responses

  1. I was just talking last week about how important it is that you love the little boy in the man you are with, and how I’ve known with several relationships that it wasn’t right because I didn’t fall in love with that little boy.

  2. That is SUCH a cute picture. I agree that seeing yourself reflected in your kids is great…and horrible when it is the bad stuff they reflect. However, it makes you never want to be bad again! By the way, nice use of “heck” as a replacement 🙂

  3. “HEYAH!” I totally know what you mean… when my son was born everyone called him Scott’s mini-me or Scott 2.0. It truly is a miracle how you can carry another life around inside you for 9 mths, birth them, and then have them look completly like someone else. But far more than looks, I LOVE when I see Scott’s personality traits shine through in my kids. When I see their love for the way things work, when their little tongues stick out when they are thinking (just like his does) or when I see their love for life, it amazes me.

    Also, I agree that is a totally cute picture. It could be on a retro hallmark birthday card, don’t ya think?

  4. That was so beautiful Val….and that picture of Andrew is adorable. I love the thought of loving the little boy in the man….I think I held onto that (without knowing it) when Joel was a teenager 🙂

  5. I have a pendent that has My husband’s one year baby picture on it that my MIL gave me. I love that thing its less “him” and more baby than an older kid picture would be but seeing my children’s eyes in that picture is nearly breath taking.

  6. What a thoughtful gift.

    There really is no felicity in the world that is superior to being in love with the man you have children with. To see his love in their eyes. “And the joy of the children was in his voice.” Now I experience what she meant.

    I also keep a photo of young Sam by my sink. It’s a helpful reminder that underneath that totally competent, strong man is a little boy who just wants to play and be loved.

Leave a Reply

