Harvest Moon

Almost a year ago I got married to this guy…Andrew…

We had a first dance. I know…big surprise.

But it wasn’t “I just called to say I love you” or “Unforgettable” – Andrew and I have a hard time doing anything normal.

We chose a Neil Young song “Harvest Moon”. Here are the words.

Come a little bit closer

Hear what I have to say.

Just like children sleepin’

We could dream this night away.

But there’s a full moon risin’

Let’s go dancing in the night.

We know where the music’s playin’

Let’s go out and feel the light.


Because I’m still in love with you I want to see you dance again

Because I’m still in love with you on this harvest moon.

When we were strangers

I loved you from afar

And when we were lovers

I loved you with all my heart

But now it’s getting late

And the moon is climbing high

I want to celebrate

See it shining in your eyes

Our recent harvest of basil, picked days before the harvest moon.

Our recent harvest of basil, picked days before the harvest moon.

I didn’t actually know what a harvest moon was when we picked the song but I loved the sound and the feeling it gave me and … to be honest … didn’t care what a harvest moon was.

A friend of mine (you know who you are) insisted that I would give birth on the full moon of course that would mean waiting 4 days after my due date. I rolled my eyes and kept walking and bouncing on my yoga ball to induce labor. It didn’t work.

But on the 4th of October, when the full moon was scheduled to make it’s grand entrance, my contractions intensified and out came Clare in the early morning of October 5th under the light of a full moon….a harvest moon.

A harvest moon is rumored to be the brightest and lowest of the season (close to the autumn equinox) so bright in fact that you can continue to harvest your crops even through the night by light of this celestial body.

Days after we arrived back home Andrew realized that October the 5th had a certain significance for us both. It marked the day that we started speaking again. Though we had known each other for years we had experienced many rifts. That conversation was the conversation that led to so many more good things and ultimately to our marriage.

So one year later we were married and two years later we reaped the harvest of our new friendship, of our love. Clare de Lune – Clare of the moon.

Life is weird. Isn’t it?

Here’s to October 5th.

Here’s to harvest moons and love.

Here’s to girls and little dresses.

Here’s to irony and life’s little mysteries.

In other parts of my world: Winston has been gone 2 weeks. Everything is so quiet and clean. Oh…except for the baby screams and poop.

7 responses

  1. I thought of Winston, and you, as I was walking my two pups in the rain today….thinking it must be nice NOT to have to go out on such a day! Then I had wet dog (s) to deal with…..but that is my life and I do love it. But you now have Clare….so will Winston come back?

    I never realized Neil Young’s song was so beautiful. What meaning in those words.

  2. Clare de Lune. Such a beautiful song. And what a fitting name for such a gorgeous girl born on a harvest moon. Lol, when I saw the title of this post, I thought of my favorite video game… so naturally I had to read the whole post. Now I know what ‘Harvest Moon’ means! 🙂

Leave a Reply

