Sticky Tile Is The Devil

I’m serious.  This stuff is terrible.

If you’ve ever thought about putting sticky tile down over your existing tile to “improve” the look of your home…DON’T!

When we moved into our house we had a ton of sticky brown tile that someone had laid down in the bathroom as a way to sell the house faster…(eyebrow raise)

The stuff always had tons of dirt between the tiles and to tell the truth wasn’t even pleasant to walk on.

old stuff

old stuff

close up...like having dirt smudged in your face.

close up...like having dirt smudged in your face. Sorry

The previous owners had done such a bad job that you could actually see the old tile peeking out from underneath the garish new stuff.  I’ve been terribly curious to see if the original tile had been worth the “repair” or if someone was just playing designer one day and laid brown tile down over the old black and white for fun. I had dreams of this beautiful undamaged tile that would last for generations more and would never get dirty and would feel warm on your toes as you got out of the shower…

Now, on a side note, I’ve been crying on and off for about a week straight.  The end of pregnancy is not treating me as well as the first 8 months. I suppose that I’m simply preparing myself for birth but to tell the truth…it’s getting to the point where I’m annoyed with my own self for all the weepiness.

Of course, along with all this weepiness comes huge spurts of energy and excitement – almost to the point where I don’t feel pregnant whatsoever.

Thursday was one of those days.

My goal for the day was to simply clean out the bathroom closet but instead as I entered the bathroom that scorching afternoon I looked down and got inspired.

So this is what I looked at for the rest of the day

So this is what I looked at for the rest of the day.

You can just imagine prego squatting and crouching down over the sticky tile and hammering off each crappy piece of vinyl.  It was pretty funny and I think I was so hot at one point that I just stripped down to my underpookies – who’s gonna care? The dog? he slept through the whole thing.

It was like uncovering a fresco.

There was so much glue under that floor that you would have thought they were trying to hide something valuable.  When I walked on it my socks just stayed there…on the glue.

I hadn’t really thought about how I was going to go to the bathroom with all that glue between me and the pot.  Luckily Andrew got home and saved the day.

Despite the fact that this hadn’t really been his idea, he jumped on and locked me in our bedroom with the AC on so that I wouldn’t inhale the toxic fumes that were produced by the anti-adhesive chemical he had to use to remove the glue.  What a nice guy.

Hey...at least I wasn't crying about it.

Hey...at least I wasn't crying about it.

This is what we found.

Vintage black and white tile - flawless!

Vintage black and white tile - flawless!

Now why the dingalingdong would you cover that up?!?!

Now...isn't that better?

Now...isn't that better?

We still have some work to do but I feel so much better.  I feel like I could bath my child in this bathroom…maybe…at some point.

I want all of you to swear that no matter how tempted you are to use sticky tile for the convenience…to  just walk away.  It’s not worth it.

It’s

Not

Worth

It.

Trust me.

In other parts of my world: Dog peed inside my in-law’s house this weekend….just peed. and we had let him out about 5 times the hour before the incident.

5 responses

  1. Oh my gosh! I love it! I want to sit in your bathroom and just chat while we admire the floor. Clare is gonna love crawling on that. Seriously! And she’ll probably do it while wearing only underpookies.

Leave a Reply

