Baby, it’s cold outside!

I know what you’re thinking…

“Liar”.

And I would be if I were talking about the current weather, which has literally crippled me and Winston.

But I’m not…

See I tricked you.

Gotta get up pretty early in the morning.

You see…Clare is going to be born in October.  But it’s the summer.  And I thought that NOBODY in their right mind would even want to touch warm wooly fabric in the summer let alone make a blanket for the shower.  This of course was mostly because I’m so hot these days that I wear as little as possible whenever possible.  In fact right now I’m sitting in my “shorty shorts” as Andrew calls them with the AC window unit on and a fan blowing directly at my face from only 2 inches away.

This dilemma has been on my mind for months.

“What if she doesn’t get anything warm and then she freezes and our baby turns blue and she never speaks to us again because we damaged her permanently?!!?!”

“What if she doesn’t get a single blanket and I have to wrap her up in my coat and people think we’re destitute and the government takes her away?!?!!?”

I suppose I didn’t think that target is right up the street but I’ve never claimed to be a logical thinker.

To my surprise we received all these wonderful HANDMADE blankets at the shower.  I was so impressed.  I couldn’t believe the talent that was surrounding me.

So not only did we get a surplus a little warm blankets for Clare but we also got all these treasures.

Pink, brown and white blanket.

Pink, brown and white blanket.

This first blanket was made by a dear friend Rebecca Meekins.  She is so gifted.  She doesn’t just make blankets either but when I try to convince her to sell some of her things she generally says, “That would take the fun out of it.”

I suppose  that’s true but if you know Rebecca try to twist her arm into at least considering it.

Fancy clothe diapers

Fancy clothe diapers

These burp clothes were made by my dear friend Elizabeth van Stempvoort.  I call her Lizard…though she is really nothing like a lizard.  hm…poetic irony I guess.  I have loved everything she has ever made me including little cards from high school.  She took the little bird of the shower invitation and made these delicious little things.  I’m going to have a hard time cleaning up spit with these.  eee….

Receiving blankets

Receiving blankets

We received these treasures from a long time friend and role model Jo-Ann Intlekofer.  (spell check insists that I’m spelling her name wrong…I actually double checked)

Jo-Ann is also expecting her first grandchild, Isla, at almost the exact same time as we expect Clare to make her grand entrance. She was gracious enough to share some of her attention with our little one and make these adorable blankets. I love the colors!  I’m afraid the only way you’ll be able to get one of these is if you personally know Jo-Ann.  She can make it…but she don’t dish it out to just anybody.

Tummy Time blanket

Tummy Time blanket

Years ago before I had even started dating my husband I bumped into the Kateri and Erin at the local Annapolis Farmers Market.  They were selling the very blankets you see pictured above in every possible color you can imagine.  I was so impressed and in love with the blankets they were selling.  The quality of the fabric and the stitching is overwhelming.  This mother/daughter team is worth checking out.  Such a special gift for any expectant mother.

receiving blankets

receiving blankets

This picture doesn’t really do the blankets justice but they were made by my very own mother.  She is a beast.  Not only is she a novelist but she basically locked herself in a room with bolts of fabric since I told her I was pregnant and has been sewing like crazy person.  These were on the bottoms of the packages she gave me at the shower like they weren’t all that important (eye rolling)…so I can’t wait to show you the other wonderful things she made.  Oh wait….like this:

A quilt for Clarey Clare

A quilt for Clarey Clare

Yeah.

I have a lot to live up to as a mother.

I’m looking forward to trying.

My mom and sister-in-law are starting a sort of sewing guild.  You should really take a look at what they have to offer.

So it’s official.  Clare will be warm.

Now it’s just a matter of finding her a crib. (48 days to go Val…better get on that.)

In other parts of my world: Another dream about the end of the world.  Whatever happened to a good old scary clown dream? I’d prefer that at this point.

3 responses

  1. That was beautifully written, Val with lots of style and heart. Thanks for the nice things you said about me. My favorite blanket, of the ones I made was the white one with the pink edging. I LOVE that one and wanted to keep it for myself… but that was unrealistic. I’m glad you also like it.

  2. Well, you know mrs. Nebbia, you might want to keep a blanket or two at your house for “emergencies”. :-).

    I wasn’t worried about blankets. I didn’t swaddle her much, except maybe at the hospital. But I have used the beautifully handmade blan-uilts that we received. One is in her room now as a dresser topper, covering my teenage desecration.

  3. Val! It was such a joy to sew for you three, and so wonderful to see all the great things you were blessed with. It’s pretty humbling to be surrounded by so many good friends–in spirit–as you raise your baby. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

