The Great Eagle of the Eagles

I haven’t cleaned my house in two weeks.  I’ll be the first to confess…actually…I guess I’m the only one that could confess.  It’s been getting disgusting and finally last night the smell just got to be too much to handle.  So I woke up this morning dragging my feet and started cleaning.

Of course…I got sidetracked.

I found this on my dresser.

If you can't read this it says, "The Great Eagle of the Eagles. -Andrew".

If you can't read this it says, "The Great Eagle of the Eagles. -Andrew".

I personally love how much this shows what Andrew values – really big wings, but no beak, great hair and a heart.  Why the hair? Or are those feathers? The Eagle even smiles like Andrew. Oh wait…the beak is just upside down or sideways.

Andrew atop Federal Hill this weekend - the Great Eagle himself.

Andrew atop Federal Hill this weekend - the Great Eagle himself.

I’ve never been a pack-rat.  People who know me may disagree because I keep random things but not out of nostalgia just out of shear laziness.  I have no problem throwing things away once I get around to it.  I would have thrown this away and I’m so glad that Andrew’s grandfather, Pop Pop, didn’t.  I would have tossed that thing with the old asparagus I found in the veggie bin this week. Thanks for that wonderful treat Pop Pop.

This is the updated belly shot. I promise it's under all that fabric. Can you tell I like getting my picture taken?

This is the updated belly shot. I promise it's under all that fabric. Can you tell I like getting my picture taken?

The glucose test – yeah the big one – was not all that bad.  I came into the office and three people said to me, “This is gonna take an hour you know?” Yeah…I got it.  I had it. I’m over it. Are you?

Then the women over the counter whispered to me, “when was the first date of your last period?”

“OH!” I shouted. “December 25th!” Everyone in the office turned and stared at my stomach.

“Merry Christmas.” she said. Can I tell you how long I’ve been waiting for someone to make that joke.  Really people? It’s taken 7 months.  Yeah. I got my period on Christmas day.  And it’s not the first time. It came all wrapped with a nice bow.

“Oh…here’s a nice cd along with some cramps and a box of tampons.”

Then this really nice lady came up to me with a bottle of bright orange stuff.  It looked like soda.  I love soda! It tasted like soda.  I wish I could have sipped it instead of wolfing it down in 5 minutes.  Mmmm…

Then I waited an hour.  She said something about not getting up or falling asleep or getting sick but I was just excited to get to spend an hour in a blood lab watching strangers walk through.  Really…I’m being totally serious….

But then I started to get real sleepy.  REAL sleepy. My head was swimming around like I had just had a handful of Benedryl. Sleeeeeeeeeeepy.

Then and hour hit and I was back to normal.

They took me back to do my blood work and literally I had the best blood drawing experience of my life. No pain and I can say that it actually felt gentle. Then it was done. And I peed and went home to eat everything salty I could find in the house.

5 responses

  1. I’m glad that went better than the last one. My OB would send me home with the orange stuff to drink before I came in and they would do the test right away when I got there. I love that system. (and I got my last one with my boy on Christmas eve so… your Clare may be my boy’s birthday buddy!)

  2. When I saw that picture I thought that Andrew had drawn it for you now and I couldn’t figure out what it meant. And how it tied in with Federal Hill. Was it how he was telling you that you were going on a surprise date on Federal Hill? Then I realized he put it on the dresser b/c he had recently come across it thanks to Gpa… makes so much more sense! 🙂

  3. About cleaning — I’ve heard it said that people who read should never be asked to clean because they find things and are then sidetracked.

Leave a Reply

