While You Are Gone

Don’t ever leave the house for your 35th wedding Anniversary.

Don’t ever go on a two week trip to Europe to Celebrate your marriage.

Don’t ever give your kids keys to the house and expect that they will use them simply for emergencies.

But if you do…this is what you should expect:

Care and Eric found some treasures. Children's shoe polish and old wiper blades. Why do they make shoe polish just for kids?

Care and Eric found some treasures. Children's shoe polish and old wiper blades. Why do they make shoe polish just for kids?

Basements are awful. I’ve always wondered why they say a person, “Came out of the closet.” My closets are fine…it’s my basement where I keep the stuff I don’t want anyone to see.

This was my favorite. I'm keeping it and framing it. Worth every bit of the 5 dollars they paid for it.

This was my favorite. I'm keeping it and framing it. Worth every bit of the 5 dollars they paid for it.

But in my parents basement we found mostly OUR junk – stuff from childhood through college that had just been left down there to rot and take up space. It was pretty shameful the stuff we just dumped and left for our parents to make sense of.

Andrew - the family handiman. I don't think he knew what he was in for when he married me. VIP.

Andrew - the family handiman. I don't think he knew what he was in for when he married me. MVP.

It was therefore absolutely necessary for us, and no one else especially not my parents, to clean out the basement. No one else could do it. We were the reason it needed to be cleaned in the first place.

Andrea and Joe sorting through hundreds of screws.

Andrea and Joe sorting through hundreds of screws.

You may criticize me for putting pictures of this process on the internet for the whole wide world to see but I had to… simply because it was such a beautiful experience.

Joe

Joe

We all took on our typical roles in the family…but this time it was different. We used our talents as equals to accomplish this goal we had made. I’m now calling my parent’s basement the great equalizer.

We realized how much our parents cared for us while we sorted through the things they hadn’t thrown away because they were ours. We bonded over the grown men screaming when they thought they had found a mouse that turned out to be a leaf. We got dirty and sweaty and worked and worked.

Andrea helped clean, cooked dinner for everyone and watched her boys.

Andrea helped clean, cooked dinner for everyone and watched her boys.

And in amongst the things of old we found our true treasure…

Team Work!

Team Work!

We found each other…

King of the basement.

King of the basement with his serf.

To be the greatest treasure…

...

...

And so received a gift while intending to give a gift.

So thank you Mom and Dad. And please forgive me for putting these pictures on my blog.

In other news: Joey and Jack enjoyed some time with their Aunt in a neighboring field. They decided the best thing to do in such a beautiful place was to stick flowers in their mouths and run around laughing their heads off. Seeing them playing made me remember the days they were born and many after. Joey then informed me that I was a bear. I’m still not sure what that means but I took it as a compliment.

5 responses

  1. If I was your parents I would be so over the moon touched when I heard of this experience… to imagine years from now my children all coming together, working together, enjoying each other not to mention finally getting their junk out of my basement… would be a true blessing.

    And I think it is so totally Andrea, aka wonder woman, that she could make dinner, watch her two boys, and clean the basement. She never ceases to amaze me with her productivity.

  2. I had the same feelings about this project. I really am so proud of everyone using their gifts and abilities to accomplish a common goal. We had so much fun doing this. You are right in saying that it was just as fun to give the gift as it will be for your parents to recieve it.

    Also, how did the the family ever survive without Andrew and Care? Those two are amazing!!!

  3. Pingback: Never and Always « Bed By Day

Leave a Reply

