Bo Peep

I have a new nursery find.

Yesterday I found a few things for the nursery – one I am particularly excited about.

I was meandering through an antique store to find some elaborate and funky frames (to come later) when I found this behind a whole bunch of junk just laying there, not even on display.

I'm sorry...really I am. But I wasn't going to leave this behind.

I'm sorry...really I am. But I wasn't going to leave this behind.

AAAAHHH!!! It’s little Bo Peep! She is gluing the tales on her lambs! Gah! The print is modern but the design is from the 1920s.  Love it.  And I figured if I didn’t buy it and my mom found out about it, she would disown me.

So I went to the counter and looked at the shop keeper to see if she would be delighted as I.  She looked up at me and said, “Oh….this is cute.” (courtesy) and I immediately blurted out, “Yeah I’m gonna have to find the rhyme that goes with it and blah bleh blah for my nursery cause I’m having a baby and I’m decorating and I just found this in your store and thought ‘Wow’ I gotta have it.”

Blank stare.

I then shut up and took my print along with a few other freaky dink items I found for le bebe.

The thing that struck me was that Bo Peep looked so much like my mom as a little girl, who we are naming our daughter after.

Bo Peep and her sheep.  Well...actually those are my aunts Stefanie and Gloria

My mom - Bo Peep and her sheep. Well...actually those are my aunts Stefanie and Gloria

Who knows if that’s what Clare will end up looking like but I figure if she has red hair I will just put up a tacky picture of Arial next to Bo Peep.  Should do the trick.

I found the nursery rhyme.  Didn’t realize it was so weird. Guess I’ll just stick to the picture. Here you go:

Little Bo peep has lost her sheep
And doesn’t know where to find them.
Leave them alone and they’ll come home,
Bringing their tails behind them.


Little Bo peep fell fast asleep
And dreamt she heard them bleating,
But when she awoke, she found it a joke,
For they were all still fleeting.
Then up she took her little crook
Determined for to find them.
She found them indeed, but it made her heart bleed,
For they left their tails behind them.
It happened one day, as Bo peep did stray
Into a meadow hard by,
There she espied their tails side by side
All hung on a tree to dry.
She heaved a sigh, and wiped her eye,
And over the hillocks went rambling,
And tried what she could,
As a shepherdess should,
To tack again each to its lambkin.

In other news: Doctors appointment tomorrow.  We find out if I’m suffering from diabetes or hypertension induced by pregnancy.  I also get to get the infamous RH negative shot…yay…I love shots…

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Finished « Bed By Day – Tales of a human musician

Leave a Reply

