A Womb With A View

Don’t worry.  I don’t have a hole in my stomach.  The title was a play on words…well…my bad attempt at a play on words.

Yesterday we painted Clare’s room.  Glorious.  Fun and fulfilling.

This is the old room...super dull. White and more white.

This is the old room...super dull. White and more white. Super Dullsville Boringsburg.

My original plan was to smother the room in reds and oranges and yellows and greens and every bright color I could think of.  Then one night I asked Andrew what he thought…don’t know why I didn’t think of that to begin with.

He looked at me with dreamy, far off eyes and said, “What about a nice pink?”

I hadn’t planned on that…

So I decided that my starting plan was not going to work and I set out looking for something a little different that we could both tolerate.

I came up with this:

Isn't it just dreamy!!!!??

Isn't it just dreamy!!!!?? This isn't our nursery. I stole it from google.

I thought a nice blue would do the trick -with lots of fun pink stuff.  The next week a friend put on their own blog that they were painting their nursery the same color and decorating according to gender.

Let’s hope they’re having a boy.

We’re not going to do the tree on the wall.  Instead we’re doing a bird kind of thing…have to see it.  I’ll update when we get there.

So we started.

Blue, glorious blue!

Blue, glorious blue!

I wasn't going to mess up my pregnancy clothes so I opted for an old shirt that used to cover my torso and some booty shorts that I bought when I thought I weighed a lot more than I did.

I wasn't going to mess up my pregnancy clothes so I opted for an old shirt that used to cover my torso and some booty shorts that I bought when I thought I weighed a lot more than I did.

We made sure that it was safe for me to paint.  Evidently most latex paints are safe for pregnant ladies as long as the room is well ventilated.  I spent about a half hour working and let Andrew finish the rest.

In his home improvement element.

In his home improvement element.

I can't tell whether I was kissing the roller or blowing on it.

I can't tell whether I was kissing the roller or blowing on it.

What?! We're having a baby?

What?! We're having a baby?

To be continue…

In other news: We’re going to Cornerstone Music Festival next week.  If you’re missing the blog…don’t…I’ll be back with plenty of good stories.

5 responses

  1. That is an awesome example Val! I love the color you have!….beauti-muss! haha, my new word! And I love the picture of you and baby girl! You look amazing momma! Ahh, I must see you soon! I am planning on being in Maryland during the holidays…I will keep you updated as to when and what dates! Haha, and I love that look on Andrews face!…

    You guys have inspired me to add a little splash to our girls room! I think that will be in the works soon! You guys seem to keep on giving me wonderful ideas! Love to you both and Winston!

  2. the title makes me laugh.

    you will never regret that color choice. it makes me feel good to know you, when you said that you changed your plans after talking with daddy-o. lots a mama’s don’t seem to care if dad’s have thoughts and hopes for nursery decor. you are a super wifey and mama. can’t wait to see the birdies. lummer told me a story about his seagulls today. I didn’t get most of it, but from what I can tell, it was quite a serious adventure.

  3. You are my favorite. My new life goal is to be like you. I love your baby room inspiration photo – and also that your lovely husband voted for pink.

    Baby Clare will be absolutely unable to take ugly baby photos. Especially if she pulls some of the faces and poses in the above post. Some kids just get lucky with ridiculously good-looking parents. She can’t be stopped.

Leave a Reply

