I Homonym You

A homonym is one of a group of words that share the same spelling and the same pronunciation but have different meanings, usually as a result of the two words having different origins.

It is also another word for my worst enemy.

We all have our weaknesses. But this curse is mine.

I’ve been writing blogs for awhile and every entry I have completed and posted for the whole wide world to see has been full of these little devils.

The written word has never come easy for me.  It hasn’t.  I grew up in a literary family but could hardly read until I was in 6th grade (no fault of their own…or is it there….or they’re?).  Don’t get me wrong, I could hold my own in a discussion about the social ramifications of the turtle in Grapes of Wrath courageously attempting to cross the highway, but I had trouble turning the scribbles to audible words into pictures and therefore ultimately comprehension.

Here I am writing. Or in Valerie terms "Hear I am righting"

See Val write. Or in my terms "Sea Val right"

Don’t worry. I got it after awhile and now I might even enjoy reading on my own time – no pressure from parents, teachers, professors or all three in one.

The only real lingering effects of my reading struggles are my inability to follow directions and my confusion of words that sound similar but are not spelled the same way. HOMONYMs!

You might even say that I’m homophobic…that’s joke.

Here are some of my favorites:

Tale and Tail: This one I actually confused in one of my song titles.  “Burning Tale” as appears on my debut album should actually be spelled t-a-i-l as in the spinal elongation as opposed to t-a-l-e as in a story.  Either works so I’m ok with the end result.

Flour and Flower: Really…the difference between these two is too obvious for me to mess up but I do. And I do it frequently.

Alter and Altar: It doesn’t matter if you are altered at the altar…they don’t mean the same thing and they are not spelled the same way. This one Andrew pointed out to me before we were dating and before I was blogging. Still haven’t got it down.

Bare and Bear: I still don’t know the difference.  Bear is an animal right? But it’s also a way to endure something? Bare is just naked…I think.

Here and Hear: Being that I am constantly here and that as a musician I hear for a living you think I would have got this one solid. Nope!

Anyway, the point of all this is to apologize.  I’m sorry for all the blaring editorial errors that I make while posting on my blog.  I’m sorry if they confuse or offend you.  I’m sorry if my inability to catch said errors persists despite reading my posts through thoroughly forward and backward and upside down.  Please forgive this humble blogger and know that Andrew will now be reading them pre-post to save me from embarrassment and you from confusion.

I love this homonymer.

Silly Val. Homonyms are for kids!

In other news: Three times to pee last night! Whooohooo! That’s the way uh huh uh huh I like it uh huh uh huh!

3 responses

  1. I share your problem. I’m sure many do but this I think is one that those who struggle with writing and reading have most acutely. I try to get my hubby to proof mine but that has not gone so well so with the exception of a few posts mine will be filled with theres that should be theirs and where that was meant to be wear.

  2. I share your history of learning and spelling. So much so that I’ve never noticed an error in your blog, and have nearly congratulated you for it on several occasions. Either I’m not a close reader, or I just speak the same homophonic language.
    sam changes mine writing too–usually post posting. he’s super nice about it. I know Andrew will be the same. Men can be so suite. 😉

Leave a Reply

